Ministry

A while back I found out that one of my best friends from childhood, Kacey, was in ministerial school in California. While yes, I am, too, mine is vastly different from hers.

She, apparently, gets to do the standard, traditional, learn-the-Bible, practice preaching, kinda thing. My program has nothing like that.

Could I do her program? No, probably not.

It sounds like a very Christian standard program. I'm not a standard Christian by any stretch, so neither is my program. But how do I get the opportunity to preach? To have a place and a community?

Yeah, mine is a global community, with seminars all over the country, all over the world. I like that. Without it, I certainly wouldn't be all excited over this trip to Ireland in September for which I am sacrificing even having a car.

Today, my friend, Edith, took me to the local Vitamin Cottage for some groceries, and she said she likes Vitamin Cottage because it's a local thing, and the money stays in Colorado. I do not feel that way at all. I am a global citizen. The money can go anywhere it likes and still benefit me and mine.

Why does it sometimes seem to me that I've chosen the hard way?

Well, I don't know. It is and it isn't. It's just where I am.

I do notice that when I've had sugar, a few hours later, when it starts to wear off, I am nearly morose, not a tenable position for a quintuple Sagittarian with a Leo Moon. Not at all. Maybe this is a correlation to that Pisces Ascendant I have in my chart. Probably.

I'm not quite morose right now, but I did have some sugar, and it is wearing off. I'm not in my favorite place of gratitude and bliss.

I was also up till midnight-thirty last night. For a very good reason, though!

I splurged on the Krishna Das concert at Unity Church in Boulder!

OMG! The man can literally transport me with his chanting. Well, so can Scott Medina, Shim Shai, Swami Vishwananda, Deva Premal, and others… okay, so I get off on chanting! So sue me. 🙂

Anyways, Krishna Das is clearly of a Sage persuasion. He told stories and jokes throughout the concert. Near the end, he started talking about telephones. Telephones? Okay. He talked about those bygone days when there was only one main line in a city, and you had to go through a switchboard to ask to be connected to someone.

Then he tells us he is Jewish, tells a story about Maharishi telling someone to "meditate like Jesus did." And how he himself has a relationship with Jesus.

Just about then it starts to dawn on me… Jesus . . . main line. . .

OH MY GOD!!!

He's going to sing Jesus Is On The Mainline!

In a Hindu style chant kirtan to Krishna kind of concert!

I was already in ecstacy. Now I was totally blown away!

I was really getting into it. I even dialed my two friends from the 80's. Let's call them D'Artagnan . . . {pause while I look up the names of the 3 Musketeers, which I've never read. It looks like there were actually four. The other 3 seem to be: Athos, Porthos, and Aramis.} Okay, so D'Artagnan & Porthos. I'll be Aramis because I like the cologne. (Cope.)

Okay, so I held up my cell phone hoping that they could hear Krishna Das singing "Jesus is On the Mainline. Tell him what you want."

It was so cool.

That's akin to the ministry I'm in.

Swami Vishwananda chants, "Jesus Krishna Jesus Krishna." That's so true~!

Love,

Stacy

Leave a Reply

