Reading Articles & My Responses to a NY Times Article on Whole Foods

God morning All!

Audrey sent me a link to a NY Times article about organic foods, and Whole Foods in particular. I wrote a reply and decided it was a blog post. 

She wrote:

Subject: interesting article on organic food

http://www.newyorker.com/critics/content/articles/060515crat_atlarge

They make a very good point about how many details there really are to food production, and how little of it we can know.

I replied:

Okay, so we've got some Artisan anything and Priest Scholar differences here that I want to share.

Most of this response is not about you. I hope I'm able to reply mostly without loading it with the baggage of a lifetime of having to defend my reading preferences to a mother and a father, and countless other friends and family who enjoy something I do not. I was constantly told that I was close-minded or self-centered when the truth is I'm just not interested in what they were interested in and they could turn that around.

(I notice that this letter would go well in a book of mine. Thank you!)

Anyone with Artisan loves a variety of facts, figures and details, I have noticed.

Me, I only want to be able to look it up. I'm ridiculously pragmatic about it. Reading an article is like shopping. I go for what I need, I hunt it down, I kill it, I drag it home. I'm done. The less time spent, the better.

I am thrilled that other people like to read articles and even read them on the computer screen, because I sometimes like hearing a little bit about a few of those sorts of things in one-on-one conversation with a person I care about.

I read the article in the spirit that you are a person I care about and you found something valuable there that you wanted to share. It started with Whole Foods, a company near and dear to my heart, so I was curious enough to see what you found there.

I read most of it, about 80%, and finally took to skimming the last paragraphs out of boredom and the need to conserve time. Start to finish, I've spent almost 30 minutes on one article and my responses to it. I don't like reading on the net. My name is "Stacy" and I am a hard copy addict. And for some reason, I've never cared for magazine articles, even in print. They are too time consuming and rarely tell me anything I didn't already know that I was already interested in, and deluge me with facts, figures and opinions that I would usually just look up if I needed them, and 99% of the time I don't. I get bored in the first paragraph.

Admittedly, the NY Times has good writers. I found a few well chosen allusions ("small planet") and intriguing turns of phrase (I think one was "farm to fork." I don't know if it was original, but I enjoyed it.)

Here is my book report đŸ˜‰

(Remember, it was my personal preference to rarely read the books for school, and I got A's on my papers. This one I read.)

I am a Whole Foods shopper because their heart is in the right place for my preferences. I feel good shopping there. The people are friendly and remember me, chat with me. I almost feel like they are friends. They stock more of what I am shopping for than any other grocery I've ever been in.

I am thrilled that they are a huge corporation now and I think they do an exemplary job of it, based on their Top 100 Co's to Work for standing, the employees I know there (for 23 years in 3 states and at least 7 stores), their product knowledge, cheerfulness and phenomenal customer service. I get annoyed at those who try to tell me that big business = bad business. Is it true? (I'm not saying that you said any of that… just responding to the article.)

And no, we can't control every detail of food production. We can only do what we can do.

I've been keeping track of my grocery spending for a long time. I spend about $300/month. As far as I can tell, I don't spend much more as a WFs than I did when Kroger, Safeway and Sunflower Natural Foods (which just didn't have enough of what I needed) were my only choices. I may have spent $200/month in the 70's when I used to eat canned foods, frozen foods and bread, but changing over to fresh fruits & veggies would have cost me $100/ month anywhere. Yes, if I had more money to spend, I might spend another hundred each month.

So, that's my response to the article.

I love engaging you in discussion about things that are important to either or both of us. At the same time, I could have written the same opinion without reading the article. I didn't find anything there that wasn't pretty clear to me before I started even though it was well written and entertaining.

Call me anytime and tell me what you thought of an article and I'll enjoy the hell out of our time together!

Love you,

~ Stacy

"This* is how God is showing up now."

– Steven Sashen

* whatever person, situation or thought is in front of me

One Response to “Reading Articles & My Responses to a NY Times Article on Whole Foods”

  1. Total Dell Computers Info Says:

    Really nice site you have here. I have been reading for a while but this post made me want to say 2 thumbs up. Keep up the great work

Leave a Reply

