Superman Returns, Jesus is Risen, and Mary Magdalane Loses Again

I just got home from Superman Returns. The movie is phenomenal. The symbolism is unmistakable. Remember, Superman’s father says he is “sending his only Son?” For those of you who haven’t seen it, watch for Superman recharging in the Sun, falling with his arms out as if he’s on a cross, and pierced in the side by Judas/the guard’s sword… err… only it’s kryptonite this time.

I’m serious.

And Lois Lane is Mary Magdalene.

Go watch it. It is undeniable.

It’s also frustrating as HELL. I sat through the last 30 minutes of the movie muttering to my companion, Terry, things like “They are fucking going to blow it again.” And, “They’ve got 25 minutes to pull this out.” and “I can’t believe he left her again.” “Jesus Christ, the motherfucking sons of bitches are going to do it again.”

I was pretty worked up. I rarely curse.

I sent a text message to 10 of my friends. The first one said, “The movie is an abomination.” The second one said, “You realize it’s a phenomenal movie. Superman as Jesus. Lois Lane as Mary Magdalene.” Well, it was a phenomenal movie. But Lois Lane who *** SPOILER *** has Jesus’ . . . I mean Superman’s son, ends up staying with some guy who just doesn’t get it, as best I can tell.

I sat down in frustration on a wooden bench outside the theater, and someone had thoughtfully carved “42” in the table for me just as I was sending “Oh no! Not again! said the Bowl of Petunias.” to my friends. Look it up. HHGG, aka H2G2.

Why does it bug me so much? Oh, come on, you know the answer to that! My companion did. He said, “So have you found Jesus, yet?” I said, “Yes and no. He’s in every man I meet, but I still haven’t met the one who really wants to be with me at that level.”

It is frustrating. And it’s not. And there’s nothing at all to be frustrated about. My friend, Ann, said it well, when she talked about 4 levels of Kabbalah. Something like, a level where nothing is fair. A level where we have a choice. A level where everything is fair. And a level at which those questions have no meaning at all.

During the last 30 minutes of the movie, I was enjoying the level at which nothing is fair. A while after coming out of the movie, feeling high as a kite on nothing but the movie, I was in the place where everything is fair, having passed through the choice level. Driving home, I had a little bit of the “question has no meaning” place.

It’s a trip.

One of the friends I sent text to wrote back and said “You crazy woman.” I replied that at least now they don’t burn us crazy women at the stake.
What to do with all of this insight? How to share it with others? Especially others who think nothing is fair? That is, if they want to hear it.

Our Father, Who art in Heaven,

Hallowed be Thy Name.

Thy Kingdom come.

Thy Will be done.

On Earth, as it is in Heaven.

Give us this day, our Daily Bread,

and forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.

And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

For Thine is the Kingdom, and the power, and the glory,

forever.

Amen

Anastacia, One Who Shall Rise Again

Leave a Reply

