Spiraling Out to Ireland

Spirals are a heady thing.

I once sat in Steven’s bathroom after doing The Work of Byron Katie with him for an hour or so, and stared at his bathmat which is covered with spirals. “Like, wow man.” was about all I could think of. I was high and you all know I quit drugs in 1985.

I’d say more about Steven, but just go read http://www.sashen.com/, particularly the Anti-Guru Blog, and you will see why I refrained.

A few years later, I met Cricket, who wears a modernized triskele necklace that he never takes off. Then I saw the pictures of the triple spiral (triskele) at New Grange, County Meath, Ireland. (Link below.)

I’ve been subscribed to the http://www.gogratitude.com/ list since Atlanta where their whole message is gratitude symbolized by a green spiraling letter “g.”

Eventually, I had the fateful conversation with Loretta where she asked, “Have you ever studied Celtic Spirituality?” and I did a web search, which turned up a class on “Celtic Spirituality and Modern Cosmology” at Wisdom University where I was already enrolled.

My father has given me money for tuition and even more to help with lodging. Can you imagine how much that means to me?  

Ramone bought my ticket with frequent flyer miles and I worked for him doing organizing and consulting on his customer service workshop, as well as a little editing and exercise suggestions for his new book, “Enjoy the Hell Out of Your Life.” (You can find it on Amazon. It’s good.)

Audrey took me in to organize her home in exchange for rent. We’ve reached that point where sometimes we don’t need to speak or we speak in unison. And if you hear either of us say “probably” in the other’s presence, it’s followed by peals of laughter. She’s like a sister to me and people keep asking if we are.

The job at Gaiam ended, a bit of a jolt, since that was how I was going to pay for this trip, but as my co-worker, Erica, a genius in disguise, said, “Maybe you weren’t meant to work in customer service. Maybe you have more to give.” (something like that)  So I applied the Quantum Wealth work to Clutter Clearing and made some money this summer.

Still, some of you are patiently waiting for me to repay money that I owe you at a faster rate than $5/month.

Lorelei, who supported me with counsel and a car, may she be thrice blessed, urges me to teach young people in any form, just teach. She says, “You’re dying. You have to teach” in the spirit of a favorite Gospel of Thomas quote that I “happened” to open to just now:

“If you bring forth what is within you,

what you bring forth will save you.

If you do not bring forth what is within you,

what you do not bring forth will destroy you.”

This evening, a man I have never met, a friend of Steven’s, agreed to store my few remaining belongings for the duration of the trip, up to a year, in the basement of his new home nearby. (I do need help getting it over there, possibly Sunday evening, are you free? Do you have a truck?)

Tonight I sit with my roommate, Audrey, listening to WholeWheatRadio.org having just received news today that my friend, Mary, will buy my car for the asking price in order to support me & my trip to Ireland. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

The internet radio is playing “Irish Washerwoman.” Synchronicities abound. I had just picked up “The Spiral of Memory and Belonging” by Frank MacEowen, with a foreword by Patricia Monaghan, author of “The Red Headed Girl from the Bog.” (Lorraine calls me “the red headed girl with the blog.” )

Elise, I would have loved to go singing and dancing with you. I eventually did half an hour of breathwork and got a second wind, so here I sit, about to go to bed, reeling from the Grace and I-don’t-know-what-to-call-it, the mystery of how this is all working out.

People responded when I was despairing of paying the remainder of my loging costs.

I want to mention every one of you by name and thank you for all the specifics, but this email would be a mile long.

Do you want to see the triple spiral?

Go to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newgrange. According to Monaghan, double spirals exist in many places, triple spirals at Newgrange only. (I have not double checked that, but it’s poetic.)

How on Earth do I tell you thank you enough? How do I bring back even a taste of what this already means to me? Even if I never set foot on Irish soil, this has been one of the most amazing journeys of my life.

It looks like I’m going to Ireland. Why? I don’t know.

Slan abhaile. They tell me it means, “safe journey, safe harbour.”

Love,

Stacy

Leave a Reply

