Bru Bar & Hostel, Cork, Ireland

What’s it like? Some of you are asking.

You know that story of the old man who sits at the train station? It’s like that.

If you don’t know it, basically, newcomers would stop and ask the old man what this new place was like. He would say, “What’s it like where you came from?” Sometimes they’d say, “Oh, people were awful. It was hard to find work. I didn’t like the weather.” You know the spiel. The old man would say, “Well, I reckon it’s kinda like that here.” Others would say “Oh, it was wonderful. I kind of hated to leave. We had so many friends. I left a good job. The weather was gorgeous, even when it wasn’t.” And the old man would say, “Well, I reckon it’s kinda like that here.”

I’m good. I’m talking with people from many different countries. Most of them are younger than I am. So far, I’ve met people from France, Canada, Israel, and England mostly, so far. There were a couple of girls who spoke Spanish. I was glad to be able to tell them the other 2 computers weren’t working, just this one, in their language because they didn’t understand my English. 

There is a bar next door, connected to this hostel. Not so bad. In this room I couldn’t hear them like I could last Saturday night. The community room has 3 computers at a long bar on one wall, a large TV, a bunch of little stools, a coffee table. One corner of the wall is painted in some pirate looking style with a ship and a map and a note that Cork has been a city for 900 years and inhabited since 3000 BC. I’ve seen a standing stone circle, a small one. Didn’t feel anything particularly there. Just stones. Interesting.

It’s been very humid, but not raining much. Bright (as they say here) for the past 3 days. My hair and skin love the moisture.

The dorm room has 3 bunk beds of silver metal tubing in a fairly tiny room with one window to the roof of another part of the building. Can’t sit up on the bottom one, but it’s worth not having to climb. Last night ( I know what you’re going to think, but no. ) Last night it was me and 5 men in the room. One of them is a young 18 year old from Quebec. He practiced his English with me and we talked about being spiritually awake and about sexual reassignment surgery he is considering. I did The Work with him on “Men always deceive me.” He said he felt more peaceful when we were done. He’s traveling a bit more around Ireland and invited me to go. I think I’m staying here, though.

There is a kitchen next to this room. There are 4 loaves of white bread, 4 containers of milk, 3 kinds of cereal, white sugar, jam, tea bags and instant coffee. There are stove, fridge and microwave. Approximately 70 people probably stayed here last night because the place had only 2 beds yesterday morning when I asked for one of them. We’re 2 blocks from the bus station on MacCurtain Street. I left my 2 heavy bags there for 5.60 Euro per day. I carried them up here last time. 

The shops are small and close together, but there is nearly everything you could need: vegetarian restaurant, Chinese, Thai, Indian, Irish, pubs, a juice bar (opens at noon, think I may go), a pharmacy, banks, things like that. The colors and shapes are different. There’s a river between this street and the one the bus station is on.

Everyone is friendly and I feel that my person and my belongings are safe here. There are a lot of college students. A few people share my interests and are fun to talk with. Pretty much like where I’m from.

Love,

Stacy

One Response to “Bru Bar & Hostel, Cork, Ireland”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Sounds great, like you’re seeing an unpretentious, non-touristy version of Ireland. Since you’ll be there for a while, try patronizing the same shops every day or two so that the owners get to know you. That’s what I like to do when I’m in France, so I can start to feel like I belong and am greeted by genuine smiles. Usually I get called “la petite americaine”–so you might become the familiar “red-headed American” to the Irish! Bonne chance.

Leave a Reply

