“There is a theory . . .

“There is a theory which states that if ever anyone discovers exactly what the Universe is for and why it is here, it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarre and inexplicable.

There is another theory that states that this has already happened.”

– Douglas Adams, H2G2

This blog is dedicated to Dr. Larry Edwards, the scientist who taught the Modern Cosmology portion of the class I just completed in Ireland, who has never read The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by the Immortal Douglas Adams, long may he live.

Larry, I am working on the post-paper. I believe the title will be “One Song.” 

Larry’s site is http://www.threeeyesofuniverse.org/. If you love our planet, take a look.

Here is another H2G2 quote:

“Many were increasingly of the opinion that they’d all made a big mistake in coming down from the trees in the first place. And some said that even the trees had been a bad move, and that no one should ever have left the oceans.

And then, one Thursday, nearly two thousand years after one man had been nailed to a tree for saying how great it would be to be nice to people for a change, one girl sitting on her own in a small cafe in Rickmansworth suddenly realized what it was that had been going wrong all this time, and she finally knew how the world could be made a good and happy place. This time it was right, it would work, and no one would have to get nailed to anything.

Sadly, however, before she could get to a phone to tell anyone about it, a terribly stupid catastrophe occurred, and the idea was lost forever.

This is not her story.

But it is the story of that terrible stupid catastrophe and some of its consequences.

It is also the story of a book, a book called The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – not an Earth book, never published on Earth, and until the terrible catastrophe occurred, never seen or heard of by any Earthman.

Nevertheless, a wholly remarkable book.”

So it is. 

For over 20 years, whenever I am depressed, sad, crying, ill at ease or at loose ends as I have been this past few days, I have pulled out a very, very worn copy of Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. I have never managed to read to the end of the first chapter without laughing uproariously. I left that copy at home. However, I had a fairly fresh copy, purchased at the used bookstore sometime before I left, and that I gave to Larry, with tears in my eyes, partly because Douglas Adams died some years ago, at the age of 45 from a heart attack while exercising on a treadmill in California (at least that’s how I heard it) and partly because I have my own sadness about where to go and what to do and why I haven’t managed to do more with my life to date. You know, that stuff. Comes up every now and then.

Today, I changed rooms in the hostel for the 4th time. The first 2 nights it didn’t matter. I thought I was leaving soon. Last night was a bit noisy. I chose a quieter room for tonight. You’ll never guess what I found on the window ledge of that room.

Time’s up!

I found a copy of The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams in the room!!! Just sitting there. Waiting for me.

That is the second book in the inaccurately named trilogy. I believe he ended up with 5 books in that series. The next are Life, the Universe, and Everything; So Long, and Thanks for all the Fish; and Mostly Harmless.

Steven says “All signs are self-painted.”  Damn, I’m good!

So, Larry, hopefully, is reading the first book, and I have just been gifted the second. I asked. The staff says I may take it with me.

In it I read today:

“You will do it. Don’t think you can escape your purpose. The Improbability Field controls you. You are in its grip. . . I don’t know if you are really capable of succeeding in your job. I think you will not be able to avoid it.”

Great painting. Do read Steven’s Anti-Guru blog, too. You’ll see how tongue in cheek this is. http://www.sashen.com/blog.

So, after reading a couple of chapters, meditating and generally returning to a feeling of all is right with the world, I came down to the common room where a young Australian couple in jeans and their 30’s was helping a young girl from Spain, in jeans and her 20’s to write a CV… that’s what they call a resume here. They were being quite thorough, asking her questions about her experience, retyping it on this very computer.

The family from New Zealand was here eating lunch. Mom, Leslie, asked, “Who wants to go to the Blarney Stone castle with me today?” No one answered. No one wanted to go. They said they had seen enough castles. (I should be so lucky!) She was quite nice about going alone. Eventually, Vanessa went with her. You should read their travelogue. They have taken a year off to travel the world. The children have seen things I may never see. They are between about 12 and 14 years old. See http://www.imminckfamily.com/ for their story and pictures. Ben is playing games on the computer. Rebecca seems to be a bookworm like me. Dad is about, fixing dinner, I believe. Last night the mom talked with me and a woman from England, Mary, about how to market ourselves and put up web sites for the work we are doing. Mary is a massage therapist who is traveling with her partner, umm, John, I believe.

Oh, and I showed Rebecca and Ben how to tell what is true by noticing the corresponding physical feeling.

Helene is here, too. She lived a while in . . . I think it was Cove, known as the last port of call for the Titanic. . . and she didn’t like it there, so she’s here looking for work and trying to see if she likes Cork any better. She’s a sweetheart, very outgoing. Picked up some fruit for me when she went to the store yesterday.

The hostel hosts, Paul, Adrian, Jason, are about as helpful as one could hope for. They call cabs, stash bags and replace room keys that aren’t working and smile every time.

Miriam is from Spain. She’s here to immerse herself in learning English, as were another couple who were in my room a couple of nights ago. They want to be flight attendants and to do so they must learn English.

Do you see what is happening here? Community. World family. People who don’t speak any common language but English, and that they’re still learning.

There’s some news for Rob Brezsny’s site! www.freewillastrology.com  Check the Beauty & Truth Lab link. Looks like the top article right now is about E. O. Wilson. Another synchronicity. Larry talked about his work in the cosmology class a bit. I’ll read it after I finish the blog.

Me, I’ve met a fellow online who may help me with my next web site in exchange for some online work with Quantum Wealth. He may also go to Steven’s class in Amsterdam if that comes true.

Guys, Rob is right, the whole world is conspiring to shower us with blessings.

And I love it… love you… love me….

Stacy

Leave a Reply

