Truth or Lie? Can You Tell? Yes, You Can.

Back in the 80’s I discovered what I then called my “yes/no feeling.” For 20 years, I used it as a primary intuition and decision making guide.

About 6 years ago, my friend Steven Sashen showed me a new framework for it and a way to go beyond this seeming duality to a place that I call “spontaneous right action.” That is, action that is not a reaction. Not moving away. Not moving toward. Just moving as an expression of who I am.

So, if you want to find your own feeling of truth/lie, try this:

Can you remember a time when you lied to someone you loved? (We all can.)

What does it feel like in your body as you remember that? Usually somewhere between your chin and your tailbone. Most people find feelings in their torso.

Great. I usually insist people find their own feelings, but this a blog and I’m not there, so way down at the bottom of this post, I’m going to tell you what you’re *likely* to find. (NOTE 1)

Now, float any statement through your mind. Anything. Try one of your favorite negative beliefs about yourself. “I’m not good enough.” and stuff like that.

Notice how you feel. Is it in any way similar to the feeling of lying to someone you love? Highly likely that it is. Maybe in a slightly different place, maybe stronger, weaker, something, but it is likely to have the same “flavor.”

Know why?

You’re lying to someone you love… YOU.

Don’t believe me on these things. Test it with all kinds of thoughts.

And yes, there is a truth feeling. See NOTEĀ 2 below the signature.

Run anything you believe past this.

It’s internal kinesiology, aka “muscle testing.” You’ve probably heard of and/or seen this. If not, I can tell you about that, too. Your muscles go weak in the presence of a lie or something that isn’t good for you, strong in the presence of the truth and things that are good for you. With another person, you hold out your arm and it’s either strong or weak. Testing for yourself is generally done by trying to pry apart your own fingers (with the opposite hand) held in an “OK” sign.

I like the internal version better. Less obvious to others, very clear to me.

Now.

You’re welcome to call me or get together sometime if these written suggestions aren’t enough or you’re confused or even if you’re just interested.

Also, The Work of Byron Katie is, because it is based on our own internal knowing of what’s true, much truer to me and gets me very connected and awake. Katie is awake. So are many of her students that I have met.

Awake and true are 2 different things.

Many people are awake, far more than we realize. Many of the theories and explanations of it all that come through many of these people’s personalities may or may not be true.

So. There it is.

Love,
Stacy

NOTE 1: Most likely you will find some kind of contraction, tension, tightness or heaviness.

NOTE 2: It’s open, expansive, light and relaxed. Sometimes there are “truth tears,” involuntary tears. Not quite crying, just tears. Sometimes chills, tingles.

Leave a Reply

