The Secret – Not!

A colleague & friend in London just sent me a well-put opinion on “The Secret, ” a popular recent, “you create your own reality” New Age movie, from someone named Burt Harding, www.BurtHarding.com. I’m also A Course in Miracles student, not to mention The Work of Byron Katie, and my understanding of Truth has developed a lot in the past few years with that.

Here’s an excerpt from his newsletter:

“In our fascination with seeking we are ready to buy into anything that promises personal power, longer life and a happier and healthier future. But is this really what it’s all about? The path of working with manifesting things in your life can be called the path of magic (coined by A Course in Miracles).

This path of magic is our ego’s craving and blocks our immediate seeing of what-is here and now. One of the great illusions is that we can find happiness through attachments and material attainments.”

Isn’t anybody else noticing this?

I sent this note to a couple of my email lists.

I received many, many well thought out replies to this post and I appreciate them all. I was surprised at the depth of this discussion.

Thank you. I wish everyone had pressed “reply to all” so you could have seen them.

 What I have found so far is that reality is sort of like the Serenity Prayer:

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change.  Courage to change the things I can and the Wisdom to know the difference.

 A better interpretation was offered by Steven Sashen, author of the upcoming book on quantum wealth. He pointed out that in the yin yang  symbol, one side represents the areas in which we can take action and do our part to move toward whatever we are moving toward as a goal.

The other side, though, is the things we cannot control, and we would not  want to! That’s where the Mystery happens. There “the Universe does what  the Universe does.” Or, “This or something better, Thy Will be done.”

Our job is to stay on our side of that line.

 (Steven actually used the word “magic,” but in order not to confuse it  with “magical thinking” or attempts to control reality, things outside of  our control, I’m saying Mystery and the Universe.)

One of the things that helps me stay on my side of that wavy line down the  middle of the yin yang is to ask Byron Katie’s questions, especially:

       “Whose business am I in when I think that thought?”

We’ve found three kinds of business:

God’s (use your preferred term) – the weather, the stock market, events, other people
Someone Else’s – their opinions, thoughts, feelings, actions, etc.
Mine – well, check inside, yours may differ

It was Kathy Adams who, about this time last year, really helped me to focus on this idea more, when she told me that she had been checking and finding out that almost nothing was her business. I’m discovering that, too.

Peace seems to be the result.

Peace on Earth, Good Will toward All,
Love,

Stacy

 

4 Responses to “The Secret – Not!”

  1. Tim Says:

    I can’t add anything other than ‘Amen’.

    With Love,
    Tim

  2. Tony Says:

    Yes,

    http://courseinmiracles.com/acourseinmiracles/workbook/acim/lesson253.htm

    Boy, total responsibility!
    no where to hide.

    I love it!

    God Bless

  3. Marc Says:

    I’d agree that manifesting new things into people’s lives appears on the surface to be “the path of magic,” as you (and the Course) put it – a means to satisfy the ego. That said, whether you label it magic or manifestation, the principle is the same — all manifestation comes through connection to Source/God/Spirit. As it says in the Wiccan Charge of the Goddess, “And you who seek to know me, know that the seeking and yearning will avail you not, unless you know the Mystery: for if that which you seek, you find not within yourself, you will never find it without.” If people are attracted to this path initially because they want to create better lives, so much the better — as Abraham often says, it feels good to feel good. In the end, we’re all seeking to reconnect with the Divine and release that which holds us back from that. However we go about doing that is of no moment.

  4. Charles Hamel Says:

    I loved The Secret, also check out What the Bleep do we know. I also am a student of A Course in Miracles. If you haven’t, check out Conversations with God. by Neale Donald Walsh.

    Inspiration is sought in daily life, it is how we perceive things that determines the emotional response that will be created.

    Thank you for a lovely Blog

Leave a Reply

