Go See the Movie, “Freedom Writers!”

Really. Now.

A significant portion of your movie dollar goes to support the Freedom Writers Foundation. See www.freedomwritersfoundation.com 

I saw it last night. You know me, I leave the theater feeling high and  connected after a movie full of truth that makes a difference. I guess I was safe to drive. I got home alright.

I cried. Take your tissues.

I don’t know how to tell you how impactful and moving this movie is.

Yes, I am impacted and moved by many things. My responses were most likely colored by my deep desire to teach classes (more than I do). Also, I recently met a man who was abandoned by his parents at 13 and lived on the streets until someone took him in. He was also one of 2 white guys in an all black school in Colorado. He lived this movie. 

What I did not know, until the end of the movie is that it was real. This movie is based on a true story. I cried across the mall to Borders and bought two copies of the book. One for me, and one for the guy I mentioned above. The clerk at the bookstore was sympathetic. Her husband is a teacher, too. I delivered my friend’s copy to him this morning about 6 am. Why not? I was up. It was important.

OMFG

Erin Gruwell, the teacher who inspired these students to finish schools and help others, is a real person. The book is a real book.

Buy it. Proceeds go to the foundation to provide similar inspiration and training to to more students.

Here is the link to go buy the book. This link takes you to the 1999 cover with a picture of Ms. Gruwell and her real students. There is a movie version of the cover out, too, now.

http://www.amazon.com/Freedom-Writers-Diary-Teacher-Themselves/dp/038549422X/sr=8-1/qid=1170890103/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/102-8152290-6856167?ie=UTF8&s=books

If you have children. If you have ever been a child. This book is likely to be very, very moving.

I hope I can do a fraction of the good this woman is doing.

Love,

Stacy

2 Responses to “Go See the Movie, “Freedom Writers!””

  1. murphyme Says:

    Stacy
    you have to be more tidy
    Do you need help?

    http://murphyme.wordpress.com

  2. Ann O'Johnson Says:

    Neater how?

Leave a Reply

