Chocolate, the Complete Food

Let’s talk about chocolate.

Matthew Middendorf, folk musician extraordinaire, has just released his CD, “Chocolate, the Complete Food,” and that is what prompted this blog.

I’ve always liked chocolate, but I have never been one to crave it or sing its praises the way some of my friends do. As a child, when my grandmother, Mema, took me to the candy counter at the department store, I always chose either white chocolate or tingalings, a minty white chocolate covered candy. I almost never went for actual chocolate.

Somewhere around 2001 this all changed some.

By then, I had sampled enough different chocolates to know that I do really love a dark chocolate. Right now, my favorite is 65% Chocolove, made in Boulder, Colorado, by a man from Belgium and distributed at health food stores. (See what I mean? Betcha didn’t know all of that!)  It’s www.chocolove.com since I know you’re wanting some.

So, I was in this group of friends back then. We were kind of a support group. We called ourselves the God Group. What drew us together was a common love of spiritual discussions. No, not exactly the Christian kind, something very eclectic. We met on Sunday evenings and hung out together talking about what was going on in our lives. Come to think of it, it was mostly stories. Hmm.

Anyways, so I can pretty much tell you everyone’s favorite chocolate and how they take their water. It was just one of those things we noticed. Yes, some of them liked a variety, and some of them would take whatever was handed to them in order not to cause a fuss, but most of us had some pretty well-defined preferences about both chocolate and water (and pretty much everything else).

Think of Sally in the film, When Harry Met Sally. There’s a scene where she’s pretty specific about her food order. We were a room full of people just like that. Fortunately, we met in homes and brought potluck rather than badger waitpersons with our detailed requests.

Chocolate obviously comes in many flavors and forms. You may wonder how there could be so many ways to take water. Okay. I won’t try to list everyone, but here is a partial list as an example:

Becky takes hers hot in a mug and only uses it to warm her fingers. 

Loretta takes hers hot in a mug with lemon and actually drinks it.

Chris takes hers with ice and lemon.

Jared takes his however they bring it to him.

Mindy takes hers no ice, with lemon.

Me, make mine no ice.

See?

But I digress. We were discussing chocolate.

Cricket, lately, has been eating Lindt 77% Dark.

Chris likes Chocolove 65% Dark with Raspberries, and most any kind with fruit.

Loretta goes through phases, always dark. I don’t know what she’s into right now.

Becky goes for dark, doesn’t matter too much what else is there, as long as it’s dark.

Jared doesn’t eat much chocolate, but I’ve seen him take what was offered when it’s there.

Me, like I said, I really like white chocolate, and now dark.

I once had these people over for a party at my place. I bought a natural bridge mix with white and dark chocolate coated nuts, raisins, etc. I set out a bunch in a bowl and then I was busy with my company for a while. When I came back to the living room to check on things, I went to grab some of the white chocolate ones and found only dark!

I hope I wasn’t rude to my company, but I was so surprised, I just said, “What happened to all the white chocolate?” Sheryl piped up and said, “Oh, I ate all those. I love white chocolate.” I looked at her in amazement. No one else of my acquaintance likes white chocolate like I do. It happens that we are both Priest Scholars. Not enough data for a conclusion, but I’m curious whether there are others.

So, last night, when I heard that I needed to move because the home I’m living in is likely to sell and close in less than 2 weeks, what did I do?

I went for chocolate mousse tart in a dark chocolate lined tart shell with pecans and coffee, light and sweet.

Apparently, I have joined the ranks of people for whom chocolate is a comfort food.

Love,

Stacy

3 Responses to “Chocolate, the Complete Food”

  1. Tim Says:

    White’s my favourite. But in bulk, it’s too rich for me.

  2. Carrie Says:

    I have a candy bar scale. Strangely, it’s kind of like our government ‘terror alert’ scale. Depending on the severity of the stressful situation, I may reach for Quik chocolate milk, Whoppers, M&Ms, Hershey’s Dark, or if it’s a REAL HUGE need for comfort, 3 Musketeers.

    Current alert level: Quik – A little stress, but no need to panic! This morning was Dark, but that’s to be expected when you have to go to court.

  3. lifeoutside Says:

    GREAT POST! I’m glad you finally found the light at the end of the tunnel that is chocolate!

Leave a Reply

