A Lifetime Dream

Two posts today – Roots & A Lifetime Dream

I thought maybe I’d just share with you my vision of my eventual ideal living arrangement.  I’ve had this dream for maybe 20 years, probably ever since I lived in the ashram in Texas, although it has roots in being born into a family of 6, I’m sure.

It’s taken 20 years or more already, and there is no telling what actually doing it will eventually take.

I had always thought I’d find a husband and we’d do this together, but that isn’t happening, so I thought I’d put my dream out once again and see what comes back.

I want to live in an intentional community. I was reading The Intentional Communities Directory in print before we all had PC’s at home. Now it’s online. I have yet to find one that sounds like my tribe. So, I may have to create it.

Remember when I was considering being a managing tenant at Joy’s? The idea was to get 2 roommates, finish the basement for a 3rd roommate and/or a classroom, and start my own. Then she got an offer and sold the house.

My dream community has various living spaces from rooms to full apartments or homes for up to 20 or 30 people, or maybe as few as 10. I’m not fond of the idea of children in the space, but it might be unavoidable for that size group.

There would be a classroom or two, more like a lounge area, a very large communal kitchen, hot tub, and the like. I’m not into gardening, but I imagine others will want that, so I suppose there would be enough property for some kind of gardening.

There would be singing and chanting groups and I need a guitarist-in-residence.

Meditation time & space would be available morning, noon and night, though not a requirement.

Some of us would work full time there, teachers, an IT manager, maybe a cook. Others might hold jobs elsewhere.

We might organize as a church or nonprofit.

So, that’s most of it. I can’t think of anything else right now.

Thanks for reading.

Love,

Stacy

2 Responses to “A Lifetime Dream”

  1. Tim Says:

    I’ve said it before but … “If I were single, no family …..”. Sounds wonderful. Good luck with it Stacy

  2. Tony Says:

    Don’t give up on finding or creating your community home. You may not get the exact community of your dreams but if you visit some and make good connections you might find that tribe of yours.

Leave a Reply

