Yes, We Can! Where Do I Start?

I got the article link below from a close friend, a man who bailed me out of my own economic recession about 5 years ago, inviting me to trade cooking for rent while I figured out what to do next. (Thank you for that.)

http://www.fool.com/investing/value/2008/11/18/weve-got-nothing.aspx

I replied to all that I tend to agree. We don’t see how yet, but an attitude of “Yes, We Can!” will take us a lot farther than pessimism and resignation. Remember the childhood truism, “can’t never could?” 

I’ve been coasting for a few years, not quite knowing what to do.

That’s not quite true.

I’ve been coasting with temporary jobs, that’s true enough. That has almost kept my bills paid. Nothing extra, but I have a place to live and food to eat.  I was able to buy a $650 car, and I bought a $600 laptop courtesy of our economic stimulus payment – because having a good laptop is likely to help me stimulate both my personal economy and the larger economy.  One of my skills is writing. Sometimes I even get paid for that.

While I’ve been treading water job-wise, I’ve been unraveling all kinds of other things.

My entire view of the world has shifted substantially. A decade ago, I started saying that I no longer had “beliefs,” that I tend to have “experiences.” For longer than that, the idea of “god” has been an optional concept – now I find that it actually holds me back. So did astrology, feng shui, affirmatons, manifrustration (err, manifestation ***) and more.

Optimist that I am, I think that as people start to question things like “The Secret” and other superstitious ideas that are not working, maybe a few will find a firmer foundation for thinking and decision-making.  Of course, then we have to wonder whether “we” actually “make” “our decisions.”   That’s a whole ‘nother question. 

(See The User Illusion by Tor Norretranders and Stumbling on Happiness by Daniel Gilbert, and On Being Certain: Believing You Are Right Even When You Are Wrong by Robert A. Burton.) 

I’m thrilled. I see things a lot more clearly now than ever.

I’m sure there is more – and I can hardly wait to find a truer way of experiencing anything that I’m lying to myself and others about. I’m less afraid of finding other places where I’ve been certain – but dead wrong.

In the wake of “Yes, We Can!” I am now asking, “Where Do I Start?”

With myself, of course, my thinking, my choices.

I’d like to put this value I have found to work helping others who are ready to discover the truth and the clarity that comes from questioning our thoughts, dropping our tensions and re-pairing seeming opposites in our thinking.

I’m almost glad that I have not been counseling or teaching much this past decade. I would have been misleading people a *lot*. It’s a good thing I didn’t finish the ministry program with University of Creation Spirituality, now Wisdom University. Even Graduate Theological Union may no longer be a fit, though the community near Berkeley might still be one I’d like.

I look forward to finding asnwers to “Where Do I Start?”

And you?

*** http://sashen.com/blog/49/manifrustration/

In fact, read any and all of these blogs – they counter a LOT of magical thinking errors that the “new age” community and others have been making for ohh. . . centuries.

And check out www.thework.com to learn the 4 questions and Turn Around that have been part of helping me to see where I’ve been lying to myself.

Love,

Stacy

“Success is a side-effect of clarity.”

            – Steven Sashen, The Anti-Guru, www.sashen.com

“Reality is kinder than your thinking – but only always.”

             – Byron Katie, www.thework.com

2 Responses to “Yes, We Can! Where Do I Start?”

  1. Tim Says:

    You could start by offering small groups your skills (TW etc.) on a voluntary basis for a short-ish period. Or not. I’ve found that helpful in the past – and may again.

  2. Stacy Says:

    Yes, now that I’ve got the glucosamine out of my system and can stay conscious without brain fog for more than an hour or two (whilst working 8 am to 5 pm every day), yes, I can!

    Thanks, Tim!
    Stacy

Leave a Reply

